Decisions concerning the management of rights, the distribution of royalties and the cultural activities conducted by LaScam are taken by its Board of Directors, consisting of 23 authors elected by the General Assembly and representing the various kinds of works managed by LaScam. The 23 authors elect one of their number as President. The Chief Executive jointly manages the society and ensures the proper implementation of the Board’s decisions.

The General Assembly

Once a year, the General Assembly Meeting, which all members of LaScam are invited to attend, approves the annual accounts and the report of the society’s activities; it decides on the cultural and social activities and on all matters submitted by the Board of Directors.
The General Assembly thus comprises all the members of LaScam. All decisions which are essential for the life of the society are submitted to it; the Assembly is sovereign. General Assembly meetings are open to all members.
Full members (sociétaires) have 100 votes, provisional full members (sociétaires-stagiaires) 50 votes and adhering members (adhérents) 10 votes.
The General Assembly meets in ordinary general meeting once a year on the first Wednesday in June. It elects the Board of Directors and takes decisions on the annual accounts, on the report of the society’s activities and on all matters submitted to it by the Board of Directors.
LaScam was the first authors’ society to enable all its members to vote by post or over the Internet.

The board of directors

The role of the Board of Directors

The Board of Directors, composed of 23 authors, decides on the society’s policy. Elected for four years by the General Assembly, it is renewable by half every two years. Retiring directors are eligible for re-election but may not be re-elected less than two years after the end of their second successive mandate.

The supervisory committee

The Supervisory Committee is composed of five member authors elected at the general meeting, and is responsible for overseeing the activities of the company’s management and administrative bodies.


Made up of five member authors elected by the general assembly, representing the authors of the works making up the LaScam catalogue, the supervisory committee’s mission is to monitor the activity of the company’s management and administrative bodies, in particular with regard to the implementation of the general policies approved by the general assembly. It is also able to examine any refusal by the company of a request for documents presented by a member pursuant to Article L 326-5 of the French Intellectual Property Code. Each year it prepares a report which it presents at the ordinary general meeting.


The members of the committee are elected for a 2-year term, renewable once. The committee is composed of:
• 3 authors of audio-visual works, including multimedia or audio and radio works,
• 1 author of written works under contract with a publishing house or creator of still images, regarding which the use of the former may or may not be made by a means other than audio-visual;
• 1 professional journalist subject to a treaty agreement entrusting the LaScam with the management of secondary rights for journalistic work.

The committees

Six committees, appointed by the Board of Directors, represent the various colleges of authors forming Scam’s repertoire: the Audiovisual Repertoire Committee, the Sound Repertoire Committee, the Written Works Committee, the Still Images Committee, the Journalists Committee and the Emerging writings and forms Committee.

Scam’s departments

Under the authority of the Chief Executive, Hervé Rony, a staff of over 100 works in the service of authors.